Show 52 – Refugees, UH Football Bowl Bound, Continental Club Show

Show 52 starts with some kidding about the SAP channel and recent over-exposure to Spanish. Stig then outlines what’s coming up on this edition.

At 4:48, Stig talks about his trip to LA and LA Live along with mass marketing and advertising signage. Bill discusses refugees coming to Houston along with certain state officials trying to prevent it. Also possible stupid things on the March ballot.

At 17:38, Stig talks about UH football winning the AAC and rumors of security abuse at the game. Bill and Stig then talk about Texas, the history of the Texas Bowl and the Rockets.

At 26:00, Bill and Stig discuss a bit of music including Becky G and the Los Bayou Ramblers. Fitzgerald’s club may still be in a state of flux. Stig then talks about early drinking on a Sunday.

At 32:24, Stig and Bill wrap up the show with what’s new for Stig. A quick exit and credits.

Music featured in this episode:

  • “Refugee” – Tom Petty (iTunes)
  • “La Gripa” – Calibre 50 (iTunes)
  • “Goodnight LA” – Counting Crows (iTunes)
  • “Hey Mami” – Sylvan Esso (iTunes)


Show 42 – Refugees, Long Tailed Curves, and New Turf for the Texans

This is a mixtape!

This is a mixtape!

Show 42 starts with a quick recap of Bill and Stig’s weekends.

At 3:50, Stig starts a discussion of the vast number of refugees that are relocated to Houston. Citing an article from the Houston Chronicle, Bill and Stig discuss how and why Houston is so popular as a refugee location. The segment ends with a bit of reality television discussion.

At 15:32, Bill and Stig talk about various aspects of long tail distribution as exampled by Mr. Shirley’s tweet earlier in the week. Stig does not go into so much detail about mechanics of fluids.

At 24:34, Stig and Bill discuss a change in the NeRG’s playing surface and how the Astro’s are slowing their pace now that the playoffs are near.

At 31:55, Stig tells about starting another 5K training program and the bad advertising from Apple Music promoting “mix tapes“! Bill shares an eBay shipping story as what’s new for him.

Music featured in this episode:

  • “Immigrant Song” – Led Zeppelin (iTunes)
  • “Number 9” – Moon Hooch  (iTunes)
  • “So What” – Pink (iTunes)
  • “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” – Peter Frampton (iTunes)